Nicolas Favresse, Sean Villanueva O’Driscoll and Siebe Vanhee free another big climb in Patagonia


After spending 19 days climbing the East Face of Central Tower of Paine in Patagonia, Nicolas Favresse, Sean Villanueva O’Driscoll and Siebe Vanhee completed the first free ascent of ‘El Regalo de Mwono’. This 1200m big wall rock climb was established between 1991/1992 by Paul Pritchard, Simon Yates, Sean Smith and Noel Craine with difficulties up to 5b, VI, 5.10, A4.

Read the full story here

IMAGE: Torres del Paine, Patagonia, Chile, seen from the Mirador. From left to right: Torre Sur, Torre Central, Torre Norte. The North Tower was first ascended on 27/12/1957 by an Italian expedition led by Guido Monzino. Torre Central del Paine (2460m) was first climbed by British mountaineers Chris Bonington and Don Whillans via the North Ridge (VI, A2 600m) on 16/01/1963. The next day the Italians Armando Aste, Vasco Taldo, Nando Nusdeo, Josve Aiazzi and Carlo Casati made the second ascent of the mountain, climbing via the same line. On 9 February 1963 the Italians made the first ascent of the South Tower.
Photo by Nicholas Hobley

Previous Montagu Rock Rally 2017
Next Federica Mingolla climbing Fisch - Attraverso il Pesce - up Marmolada, Dolomites